Dodge and Burn effect (a tablet painting)

After our lecturer at uni showed us a bit on illustration using the wacom tablet, I was most eager to get my back out and try a burn and dodge effect to one of my drawings. This is something I’ve always envisioned to do, but was rather lost in how to go about it. This is my drawing of Katniss (The Hunger Games) that I’ve dodged and burnt on a grey ‘multiply filter’ layer. For my first attempt, I thought it turned out rather lovely. True, there are some flaws, but I don’t have total knowledge of proportion. And somehow I managed to erase part of the canvas around her right eye, thus it’s slightly messy there. Nonetheless, I’m very pleased with how it has turned how, and look most forward to making more.

Leave a Reply

