Design Exchange

Design exchange market at the Mining Exchange, Ballarat, 17 march 2013

Design exchange market at the Mining Exchange, Ballarat, 17 march 2013

I seem to always find that this event is on AFTER it happens, but I made it to this one yesterday. It showcases design/craft stalls; from prints to (really cute) hand-made toys! Yes, a little out of my price range, but (when I’m older) I would rather *invest* in something that someone has crafted rather than *buy* lots of mass produced things. True; you wouldn’t have as many things, but you would have something more worthwhile and appreciate. Just a view.

With markets: I advise on asking if you can take pictures of items as some store holders can be rather skeptical of you. I was taking a few snaps at one stall and the girl was fine with it, but reminded me that some others weren’t. I think she was more interested in my Polaroid camera instead. But at another stall I asked and she asked in return what for. I gave my reasons (design student) and she was fine with it. This lady was telling me that she had people just peep into the stall and take photos on their phone and quickly whisk away. I personally think that’s a bit secretive and sneaky. Anyway, it was nice to look around and see some brilliant ideas on materials and display options.

Leave a Reply

