Wicked (a poster design)

‘Wicked the musical’ was back on show in Melbourne this winter, and as we did not see it when it first came out, it was a definite this time. I loved the story, putting a different perspective on the plot line, and all the songs! Naturally, you can’t have a good story without there being a love story, and the one between Elphaba and Fiyero was simply beautiful. Due to loving this musical a good deal, I decided to respond with a poster design.
I originally was going to keep it simply with just vector shapes, however I like to add a bit of rendering to my work with textures and ink splotching.

I focused on using just a few elements; Elphaba, Fiyero, the Emerald City, flying monkeys, yellow brick road, and the title. Even though there were just a few items, I did end up spending a bit time just adjusting and trying to get the spacing right. After making the vector shapes on Illustrator, I copied them into Photoshop and played around with the layout, textures, and other things.

And ended up with the final result. May not be the most innovative poster design, but I’m quite happy with the result and show it in appreciation of the story. Wicked!

Wicked poster design_LRd

Leave a Reply

