Princess Mononoke Cosplay (Supanova 2015)

150411_Supanova(web) (7 of 27)A couple of weeks ago was the Supanova event in Melbourne. As it happened to fall on my bday weekend and it would be the first time I would be going, I decided to dress up and make a costume that I would love to portray. My sister and I were thinking of what we both could go as, and I had a few ideas, but when I mentioned about Princess Mononoke it was decided there and then.
The costume seemed to take me forever!!! The first part I did was the necklace – which ended up being my favourite part of the outfit as I did my ‘own thing’ instead of what I’d seen other online tutorials do: using macrame instead of beads.
The mask took so many layers of paper mache. I used air drying clay for the raised detail and then paint over it all (my sister was very kind and drew the template on.)150411_Supanova(web) (12 of 27)
The dress and the cape: are a bit “not so precise” but they held together. The cape’s material malts so when we were first cutting it out my sister and I were sneezing and getting itchy eyes – so much so that I didn’t work on it for a few weeks b/c I didn’t want that to happen again. The white over top is just a singlet that I’ve altered.

On the morning my sister painted my face paint on and I was good to go! It took her about 2.5 hours to do her hair and make up (??!!) and they ended up missing the train (which wasn’t such a bad thing b/c ours kept breaking down and took us an extra hour to get down to Melb. )
I went with a few friends and just had a lovely time seeing all the amazing costumes that people had made – all the exquisite detail and how they cosplay in these outfits.
I wanted to take lots of photos, but by the time we got there the abundance of people was astronomical that it was very difficult to move and have some space, and b/c of my costume and how it was pinned to me, I couldn’t really operate photographing like I usually do. But it was lovely just to see all the costumes anyhow.

A guy dressed as Princess Mononoke that I got a photo with.

A guy dressed as Princess Mononoke that I got a photo with.

I also got a photo with this guy who had dressed up as Princess Mononoke just for something random. And whilst I was eating lunch, a couple of girls asked it I could get a picture with them.

We also went to the cosplay competition. I was amazing just how long people took to make their costume!!! Eight months… a year… what ever it takes. The Rocket Raccoon was so detailed that even the mouth moved!!!!!!!!!!!

Cosplay Comp. Robin interpretations

Cosplay Comp. Robin interpretations

Cosplay comp. everyone on stage

Cosplay comp. everyone on stage

 

 
For the first time going I very much enjoyed myself and I found it fascinating how pop-cultures bring people together and how passion for this other reality occupies our hearts and minds – like a double exposure.

For my birthday my friends got me my first ever Pop-Vinyl  – Gamora from Guardians of the Galaxy – and now I’m rather hooked on them.

Now starting to think of what to go as for next year… but before then is Comic Com… might see what that’s like… 🙂

Iron Man suit from Avenger: Age of Ultron

Iron Man suit from Avenger: Age of Ultron

Sister as Capt. America

Sister as Capt. America

Sister and her boyfriend as Capt. America and the Winter Soldier.

Sister and her boyfriend as Capt. America and the Winter Soldier.

 

Leave a Reply

